Thai green curry noodle soup

Thai green curry noodle soup

The story of my life for the past few months has been: wake up, work, home late, eat, sleep, repeat. It’s not within my DNA to pop a ready meal in the microwave. Growing up in a typically large Vietnamese household where my mum made practically every meal from scratch – the thought of such a thing makes me hang my head in shame. My mum would be so disappointed!

Nonetheless, these days, I need ridiculously quick yet healthy dinners that don’t compromise on flavours. This noodle soup ticks all of those boxes and more.

I tend to just throw this soup together without any real measurement and go by the taste test, so amend it to your taste buds and chuck in your favourite veggies, as I have done. I’ve added prawns but you can easily sub this for chicken or tofu. This recipe serves 2.

Thai green curry noodle soup

2 heaped tbspn Thai green/red curry paste
1 tbspn fish sauce
1 tspn dark soy sauce
1.5 litres of boiling water
1 cup coconut milk
2 nests of rice or egg noodles
Handful of green beans, tender stem broccoli and mini corn on the cobs
Packet of raw prawns
Squeeze of lime, optional

Fry the curry paste in a little vegetable oil until the aroma fills the kitchen. Add the veggies and coat in the curry paste mix for a few minutes before adding the water and fish and soy sauce.

Add the coconut milk and at this stage, taste and season. Sometimes I add a squeeze of lime here. Pop the noodles in for a minute, throw in the prawns and cook until pink and then serve in big bowls.

Leave a Reply

